Reflections and Articles by Stephan Jones

Stephan Jones is a Jonestown survivor. In addition to writing the articles below, Stephan appeared as a speaker during the Griot Institute of African Studies lecture series entitled Jonestown: 35 Years Later at Bucknell University; his presentation appears here. Recent interviews with Stephan include:

“Son of Anarchist: My Father, Jim Jones, and What the World Can Still Learn From Him,” by Moran Sharir, Haaretz, January 22, 2019.

Stephan’s address on November 18, 2018 at the 40th Anniversary Memorial Service at Evergreen Cemetery in Oakland, California is here.

Stephan may be reached at

My Dear Brother, Tim Tupper Jones (2019)

The Man They Loved (2015)

Death’s Night (2013)

Reunion (2013)

Ankles and Assholes (2013)

Johnny Brown: Taking Care of His Own (2013)

Restored Humanity (2012)

The Deluded Heir (2012)

Baby Toes (2012)

Chuck (2010)

My Brother’s Mother (2009)

Ruth’s Teeth (2008)

Going Home (2007)

A Farewell to A Friend (2005)

Marceline/Mom (2005)

Angels (2003)

Like Father, Like Son (2003)